Five Bears Named to IWLCA Academic Honor Roll

Five Bears Named to IWLCA Academic Honor Roll

BRIDGEWATER, Mass.  --  Five members of the Bridgewater State University women's lacrosse team have been named to the 2019 Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) Zag Sports NCAA Division III Academic Honor Roll.

BSU seniors Kerrin O'Leary (Millbury, Mass.) and Elizabeth Ettridge (Marshfield, Mass.), and juniors Hayley Barner (Westwood, Mass.), Victoria McDonough (Mansfield, Mass.) and Hayley White (Dracut, Mass.) are among 630 student-athletes from 160 different Division III institutions to earn the accolade.

To be eligible for the IWLCA Academic Honor Roll, student-athletes must be juniors, seniors, or graduate students and have earned a cumulative academic grade point average (GPA) of 3.50 or greater.

O'Leary graduated this past May with a Bachelor of Science degree in management. She wrapped up her four years at BSU with a cumulative 3.69 GPA.

Ettridge currently sports a 3.98 GPA and is majoring in history and secondary education. She was named the BSU Dr. Adrian Tinsley Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the second straight academic campaign.

An elementary education major, Barner checks in with a 3.45 GPA, while McDonough and White have recorded grade point averages of 3.77 and 3.64, respectively, over their first six semesters. McDonough is majoring in communication disorders, while White is a special education major.

The BSU women's lacrosse team is also one of 303 schools from across Division I, II, III and the NAIA to be recognized as an IWLCA Zag Sports Academic Honor Squad for the 2018-2019 academic year. The award recognizes outstanding academic achievement by teams with cumulative grade point averages (GPA) of 3.0 or better for the academic year. The Bears recorded a team GPA of 3.31 in 2018-2019.

2019 IWLCA Zag Sports Division III Academic Honor Roll (PDF) | 2019 IWLCA Zag Sports Academic Honor Squads (PDF)