Field Hockey Earns Zag Sports/NFHCA National Academic Team Award

Field Hockey Earns Zag Sports/NFHCA National Academic Team Award

BRIDGEWATER, Mass. -- The Bridgewater State University field hockey team was one of 131 NCAA Division III programs to earn the 2018 Zag Sports/National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) National Academic Team Award. The news was announced by an NFHCA press release on Wednesday, March 13th.

The National Academic Team Award recognizes programs that earned a team grade-point average of 3.0 or higher during the fall semester of the 2018-2019 academic year. The Bears posted an impressive 3.34 GPA for the 2018 fall semester.

Swarthmore College posted the highest team GPA with a mark of 3.76. Second and third on the top-five performers list are fellow New England Small College Athletic Conference teams, Williams College and Amherst College, with a team GPA's of 3.69 and 3.65, respectively. In fourth is Haverford College with a 3.64 and in fifth is Springfield College with a 3.63 team GPA.

Bridgewater State is one of nine Little East Conference (LEC) field hockey programs to earn the award. The Bears are joined by Castleton University, Eastern Connecticut State University, Keene State College, Plymouth State University, Salem State University, University of Southern Maine, Western Connecticut State University and Westfield State University.

For a full list of the 131 DIII programs, click here.

The Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Division III National Academic Squad (individual) will be announced on March 20th.